Welcome to the www.LightOnVedicAstrology.com Forum. Click here to register

Navamsa

For discussion on planets, houses, signs, nakshatras, etc.

Moderators: shilpa, spidey

Forum rules
READ Forum-Wide Rules and Guidelines NOTICE: OFFENSIVE POSTS WILL BE DELETED, AND OFFENDERS WILL HAVE ALL POSTS MODERATED.

Navamsa

Postby Ann » Fri Oct 20, 2006 3:03 am

Hi Everybody
This is going to sound really stupid but I don't understand which planet out of the natal chart (Rasi) is used for the Ascendant in a Navamsa Chart. I have a free programme Jyotish and it uses South Indian Charts - it does number the houses and puts planets in them but does not name them. Can anyone tell me how this works. All I know about it is that it uses a 9th harmonic. As you can tell I am a complete and utter novice but I do so want to learn Vedic Astrology.
Thank you in anticipation

Ann
Ann
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor

Navmsa

Postby rameshchojha » Sat Oct 21, 2006 10:28 am

Dear Ann,
The Navmsa is ninth part of a Sign.There is a calculation for it .If you wish you can learn through the books available.But the softwares available give you readilly the Navmsa chart.
The south Indian chart is a fixed one and starts from Aries etc .You can count from top second left it is always Aries,Tau,Gem so on.The ascendant is marked where it demands.
You can for the sake of initial study convert to North Indian Pattern.
I hope it will be of some help to you
Ramesh ojha
TO THE GOD BY THE GOD FOR THE GOD
rameshchojha
Newly Registered User
Newly Registered User

Navamsa

Postby Ann » Sat Oct 21, 2006 10:17 pm

Hi Rameshchojha
Thanks for the reply to my post. I was given to understand that the South Indian charts start from Pisces in the top left hand corner. Does the Navamsa chart then start from Aries instead of Pisces?

Ann
Ann
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor

Postby mathur_dinesh » Sun Oct 22, 2006 3:07 am